Deleted WhatsApp sent messages might not be gone forever! | Tech Minions WhatsApp Delete for Everyone
You are here
Home > Tech News > Deleted WhatsApp sent messages might not be gone forever!

Deleted WhatsApp sent messages might not be gone forever!

Delete for Everyone
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

WhatsApp, one of the most widely used instant messaging apps, rolled out “Delete for Everyone” feature recently. To use delete for every one features tap and hold on a message you want to delete and tap the delete button above and then select delete for everyone. This message will delete for you and everyone in the chat. But a new report claims that WhatsApp messages that are deleted are actually still on the device and can be easily accessed.

Spanish Android blog Android Jefe has claimed that deleted messages are present in the notification log of the device. It adds that the recipient can easily access the deleted messages regardless whether it has been deleted from sender’s end. “What we found is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system. So, it’s just a matter of entering that record to see the messages that the other person deleted,” the blog said.

How to read deleted WhatsApp messages someone sent you.

1. They explain that anyone can access deleted WhatsApp messages sent to them via a third-party app named Notification History which can be downloaded via Google Play Store.

2. After downloading the app, users will have to search the message in the Android notification log. Those users who are using third-party launchers like Nova Launcher it’s even easier.

3. The notification log can be accessed without the need for an additional app. Long press the home screen, then tap on Widgets > Activities > Settings > Notification log. You can then access the system’s notification log.

4. On stock Android, a Settings widget can give access to the notification log as well.

We tried both the Notification History a third-party app and the Activities method described above and discovered that the trick worked on an Android device.

This method has a restriction that only the first 100 characters of the deleted message will be visible. The feature is available only for users running Android 7.0 and above. Users can only retrieve text, not the media file.

Source: Android Jefe


  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply

Top