How To Delete Personal Data On Facebook Without Deleting Your Account | Tech Minions Tech MinionsHow To Delete Personal Data On Facebook Without Deleting Your Account | Tech Minions
You are here
Home > Tech News > How To Delete Personal Data On Facebook Without Deleting Your Account

How To Delete Personal Data On Facebook Without Deleting Your Account

facebook data privacy scandal
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

We know that #DeleteFacebook is trending all around the world and ironically the hashtag is taking over not only Twitter but Facebook as well. After the news was widely spread, On Friday night, the company made its first move, jumping out in front of the news reports to publish its own blog post announcing that it was suspending Cambridge Analytica’s use of the platform. Even WhatsApp co-founder has tweeted with a hashtag #DeleteFacebook, asking people to delete their Facebook accounts. Deleting a Facebook account once in for all might not be a feasible solution, as most of the day to day activities are directly connected with it.

Of course, you could choose to leave Facebook entirely, but for many that is not a viable solution. Luckily for you, there are ways to #DeleteFacebook without actually deleting your Facebook account — though, that still means Facebook will collect some data and make money off of you. But most of your sensitive data can be removed from the site without fully deleting your account.

Methods to delete personal data:

There are two methods to remove already existing data on Facebook. The first method helps to prevent Facebook from collecting additional data from other platforms like Instagram. The second method gives a more refined control over the information that you can share with other platforms.

You May Also Like: Understanding Facebooks Data Privacy Scandal And What Is #DeleteFacebook

The first method helps to prevent Facebook from collecting additional data from other platforms like Instagram. Go to Settings>Apps>Websites and plugins then click on disable platform. This action will prevent you from signing-in to other applications or platforms that use your Facebook details. After doing this, you might not be able to play games or access applications. However, the already signed-in applications will still collect your data, until you sign-out of that application individually.

The second method gives a more refined control over the information that you can share with other platforms. Instead of Apps, Web sites and Plugins just go to “Apps Others Use” and deselect everything on that list. That way, your personal information stays out of the hands of other people.

 

From the same App Settings page, you can remove individual apps that you’ve let into your Facebook life in the past.

What you have to do, basically, is to keep your activity to a minimum. Remove information from your profile that you don’t want anyone to have access to, including personal information that appears on your profile page, as well as previous likes, check-ins, interests, tags, and whatever else you think should not be shared with Facebook or third parties.

(Via)


  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply

Top